Peter Sellers and Poi and the feudalism of theatre despots

The more Poi I spin the more I think about Peter Sellers.

I have one month to finish my re-write of him, and it’s driving me a little batty.  People at work talk to me, and I can’t concentrate on what they are saying because I am focusing on Peter Sellers.  24 hours of Peter Sellers.

So I spin Poi, I think Poi, I dream Poi.

Funny, people say that theatre in the Bay Area is so much better than theatre in LA and I found out that to be a lie like all the other lies that people tell you. 

I saw an actor friend of mine in the City and we talked about the Bay Area vs. LA and we both agreed.  The Bay Area does not have a thriving theatre scene of artists: it has a clique, composed of tinier cliques, cliques within cliques, demigods, tyrants, desposts, lords of the manor, snitches, asskissers, swindlers, thieves, and liars. 

They’re not trying to “make it” here.  Or make Art.  Theatre is just “something for them to do” for five years before they get married, get a boring ass secretary job, and move on with their lives. 

LA artists are desperate. They moved to LA to make it happen, they risked everything to go there. And that desperation drives their work.

Not like these lazy, egotisical, despots that rule the cliques that break up this area. They are not artists, creating a “scene”. They are stagnant culture-fuckers, pissing in my cup. 

 It’s a sewing circle. A tupperware party.  A soccer-mom convention.

3 Comments

  1. Tiffany
    Posted May 23, 2007 at 9:56 am | Permalink

    There are no losers in life. Have you forgotten that? You used to be so sweet, wanting the best for everyone, you would have never called anyone a “loser”. What the fuck happened to you? Has the pain of life changed you that much?

  2. Tiffany
    Posted May 23, 2007 at 10:00 am | Permalink

    This is one version of reality. Don’t forget that there are infinite strings.

  3. Posted May 30, 2008 at 6:04 am | Permalink

    Sleight says : I absolutely agree with this !


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

